United States Senate

October 18, 2021

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary U.S. Department of Agriculture 1400 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20250

Dear Secretary Vilsack,

We are concerned about the delay in financial assistance for our nation's biofuel sector during the unprecedented economic circumstances brought on by the COVID-19 pandemic.

As you know, we have been advocating for targeted relief for the biofuel industry since the onset of the pandemic and the demand collapse for ethanol, biodiesel, and other renewable fuels. On June 15, 2021, we welcomed the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announcement of \$700 million in aid to biofuel producers as part of the USDA Pandemic Assistance for Producers initiative. In your press release, you indicated that this assistance would be implemented within 60 days. It is simply unacceptable that it has been over 120 days since your announcement and biofuel producers are still waiting.

The pandemic continues to negatively affect biofuel producers. As feedstocks have experienced historic highs, margins to produce biofuel have risen, and many plants remain offline or are operating at reduced rates. With President Biden's plan to decarbonize the transportation and agriculture sectors, we remind you of the important role of biofuel. It is past time our hardworking biofuel producers receive the critical aid that you promised.

As the Department continues to implement the Pandemic Assistance initiative, we stress the urgency of muchneeded help to ensure biofuel producers are able to survive. Thank you for considering our critical request and for your dedication to rural America. We look forward to continuing to work with you to ensure American agriculture and rural communities receive the support needed in response to the ongoing pandemic.

Sincerely,

Joni K. Ernst
United States Senator

Chuck Grassley United States Senator

United States Senate

Jerry Moran

United States Senator

Deb Fischer United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

Roger Marshall United States Senator

Ben Sasse United States Senator John Thune United States Senator